40th Anniversary Lesbian Herstory Archives Art Benefit
Friday, December 6, 2013

To inaugurate the Lesbian Herstory Archives' year-long 40th anniversary celebration, we are holding an Art Benefit hosted by Johannes Vogt Gallery in New York, NY, co-sponsored by Alexander Gray Associates. We invite you to be part of celebrating the Archivesí 40th year of gathering and preserving lesbian lives and culture for future generations.

The event will feature:
• Work by about 140 lesbian artists.
• All those who purchase a raffle ticket will leave with an original work.
• Artists, curators, gallerists, collectors, and art lovers will be present.
Moe Angelos, Ashley Brockington, Robin Cloud, and Kay Turner will emcee and entertain the crowd.
Alexander Gray Associates will be hosting us with an all vegan reception.

Read our Statement of Purpose for this event.

Johannes Vogt Gallery, 526 West 26th Street #205, New York, NY 10001-5518 (Map)

Friday, December 6, 2013
Preview & Public Viewing Hours: 4.00pm - 6.00pm
Raffle & Reception: 6.30pm - 10.30pm

How to Attend:
To participate in the raffle you must purchase a $140 ticket before the event (the 2009 event sold out).
• To attend the benefit without participating in the raffle, tickets will be available at the door with a suggested donation of $40 (more if/less if).
• Public viewing hours before the benefit will be free and open to the public.
• If you wish to participate in the raffle but cannot be present at the event, we will select a work for you at random.

Participating Artists (subject to change, list still in formation):
Meredith Allen, Marina Ancona, Elaine Angelopoulos, Nancy Azara, Elvis Bakaitis, Hannah Barrett, Arianne Benford, Shirley Bernstein, Monika Bittman, Darla Bjork, Lula Mae Blocton, Nancy Blum, Katherine Bradford, Deborah Bright, Nancy Brooks Brody, Rosanna Bruno, A.K. Burns & A.L. Steiner, Christine Callahan, Anna Campbell, Jennifer Camper, Jean Carlomusto, Candace Chaite, Michele Clarke, Nayda Collazo-Llorens, Liz Collins, Tee Corinne, DAM! (Dyke Action Machine), Liz Deschenes, Leah DeVun, Cecilia Dougherty, Angela Dufresne, Rachel Farmer, Sarah Ferguson, Tina Fiveash, Su Friedrich, Dana Gentile, Leah Gilliam, Maria Elena Gonzalez, Brenda Goodman, Michela Griffo, Morgan Gwenwald, Barbara Hadden, Candy Halikas, Barbara Hammer, Harmony Hammond, Vanessa Haney, Sharon Hayes, Clarity Haynes, Karen Heagle, Shaira Holman, Kate Huh, Happy/L.A. Hyder, Lorraine Inzalaco, Xylor Jane, Angela Jimenez, Christina Kelly, Lisa King, Leigh Klonsky, Ashley Kolodner, Debora Kuetzpal Vasquez, Katharine Kuharic, Julia Kunin, Ginger Legato, Elisha Lim, Marget Long, Christina Long, Thessia Machado, Shelley Marlow, Christina Mazzalupo, Nancy McCarthy, Tiona McClodden, Julie Mehretu, Leeza Meksin, Allyson Mitchell, Sharon Molloy, Carrie Moyer, Ulrike Müller, Dona Nelson, Hilary North, Emily North, Alice O'Malley, Sherley Olopherne, Yvonne Fly Onakeme Etaghene, Sarah Oppenheimer, Ann Pachner, Maia Palileo, J Pasila, Sheila Pepe, fierce pussy, Jessica Rankin, Lisi Raskin, Emilisa Robles, Jessica Rybak, Carol Saft, Joi Sanchez, Eve Sandler, Mahlot Sansosa, Sue Schaffner, Saskia Scheffer, Sarah G. Sharp, Alexandria Smith, Laurel Sparks, Annie Sprinkle, Linda Stein, Veronica Stein, Ginger Brooks Takahashi, Gail Thacker, Julie Tolentino, Maria Tsaguriya, Adriana Varella, Sam Vernon, Joan Watts, Fran Winant, Mette Winckelmann, Lindsey Wolkowicz


Help make this event a success and join in the fun by volunteering to help.

Click here to fill out the volunteer sign up form.

* Volunteers can still participate in the raffle, but they must purchase a raffle ticket.


We would like to extend a special thank you to Johannes Vogt Gallery and Alexander Gray Associates for co-sponsoring this event.

We also want to express our sincere thanks to every artist who is donating work to this event.

A full list of supporters will be available soon.

Help Spread the Word

Below are links to two versions of a flyer for this event. Please feel free to download and print them, to distribute to your community, and LGBT and arts organizations.
Full Color Flyer
Black & White Flyer

For the press and bloggers:
Benefit Press Release

Past Event

In 2009 the Archives hosted an art benefit to help support the organization's work. Click to view images from the 2009 benefit.

More Information

2013 Committee Members:
Alexis Clements
Carrie Moyer
Sherley C. Olopherne
Flavia Rando
Sue Schaffner
Shawn(ta) Smith-Cruz

With intern support from April McMullan.

* Photos on this page were taken by Sherley Olopherne at the 2009 LHA Art Benefit.

Copyright © 2013 by LHEF, Inc.